December … Not Just Christmas

Hi everyone. I guess December to most people is all about Christmas, so I thought it would be a good time to share all my Christmas posts with you. You will find links below to recipes, recommended books, films, music, gift ideas, and ideas for how to be more eco-friendly during the festivities.

Of course, not everyone likes the season, so I’ve also got news of other things going on in December, and about a couple of changes I’ve made to my social media accounts.

Before we start on the December stuff, I just wanted to let you know about my Instagram accounts. I’m very late to this platform, but I really enjoy it, and love sharing a daily photo on each of my accounts.

@jojacksonwrites is where I share art, street art, sculptures, music, USA travel, and other quirky things that have caught my eye.

@teaandcakeforthesoul focuses on some of the gentler things in my life – UK nature and travel, gardening, books, baking, crafts, and some of my recommended product reviews.

If either/both of those appeal to you, and you post something similar on your account, then please take a look. I’m not into the follow-for-follow game, but I love accounts where we can genuinely interact and appreciate each other’s photos.

I’m rarely on Facebook or Twitter now, but do have accounts on both.

image of a gingerbread house and a jar of milk with some pine cones and the text Christmas eco-friendly, music, movies, gift ideas, recipes and books at Tea and cake for the Soul
Save for later – original photo by Olya Kobruseva from Pexels

CHRISTMAS

So Christmas lovers, here are links to all my recipes, recommended Christmas books, films and music, gift and wrapping ideas, and ways to be more eco-friendly during and after the festive season.

CHRISTMAS RECIPES

Chocolate Saltine Toffee aka Christmas Crack
White Chocolate Cookies
GF Chocolate Brownies
Nan’s Christmas Stuffing
Chicken or Turkey Curry
Chicken or Turkey Noodle Soup

CHRISTMAS BOOKS

Free Christmas Kindle Reads
Festive Women’s Fiction for Christmas
Heartwarming Christmas Chick Lit

CHRISTMAS GIFT IDEAS

100 Eco-friendly Gift Ideas for all Budgets
Food & Drink Gift Boxes
Book & Magazine Gift Boxes

Gifts for Book Lovers
Best Bookish Gifts for Kids
Budget Friendly Gifts for Teachers
DIY Alternative to Christmas Cards

BE ECO FRIENDLY AT CHRISTMAS

Eco-friendly Advent Calendars
Eco-friendly & Waste-free Wrapping Ideas 
Charity Advent – 25 Acts of Christmas Kindness
How to Make Ecobricks From Your Christmas Waste
How to Reuse, Recycle & Redistribute Your Rubbish at Christmas

CHRISTMAS MUSIC & FILM

My First Concert
Essential Alternative Christmas Albums
Christmas Eve Rockin Playlist

Must See Christmas Movies
Netflix Christmas Movies

CHARITY AT CHRISTMAS & THE NEW YEAR

How to Give to Charity for Free or on a Budget
Penny Jar Project
50 Random Acts of Kindness

 

WHAT ELSE HAPPENS IN DECEMBER?

Most of the awareness days in December are Christmas related, but there are a few that aren’t.

Straight after Movember is Decemberbeard, a sponsored beard grow to raise funds for Bowel Cancer UK. As much as I dislike facial hair, if it’s raising awareness for cancer, and getting men talking about cancer then it can only be a good thing. So many cancers can be treated if caught early enough and we know how men tend to ignore these things.

World Energy Conservation Day originated in India and is now marked worldwide annually on December 14. In a month where so much energy is used and waste created, we must all try to make small changes to ensure a future.

One of my favourites is the Festival of Winter Walks organised by The Ramblers Association. It’s a 2 week period where they encourage people to get active to keep fit and combat loneliness.

So I’ll sign out for now and hope that some of the above posts will be of interest to you.

Until the next time, wishing you all a stress-free, enjoyable season.

.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.