Nan’s Mixed Herb & Onion Stuffing Recipe – Perfect for your Christmas or Thanksgiving dinner

Why bother with packet stuffing when it is so easy to do yourself? My nan used to make a bowl of this lovely homemade mixed herb and onion stuffing for each family member every Christmas. This recipe has been passed down through the generations and I’ve now passed it on to my children. I make it whenever I do a roast and it’s a must for Christmas Dinner. It really does taste and smell amazing and literally takes minutes to make.

Nan’s Mixed Herb & Onion Stuffing Recipe (serves 3-4)

INGREDIENTS

2-3 slices of bread for breadcrumbs
1 small chopped onion
1 tablespoon of suet
Mixed herbs (I used about 5g of a supermarket value brand)

METHOD

1. Turn your bread into breadcrumbs in a blender.
2. Mix all the dry ingredients together.
3. Add a splash of milk to bind.
(Use a little more milk so that it sticks together if you want to make into stuffing balls).
4. Lightly pack into a greased ovenproof dish.
5. Cook for 20-30 mins at 180 degrees.

Gluten-Free, Dairy-free, Vegetarian Stuffing Recipe

You can, of course, use gluten-free bread and suet, vegetable suet and/or dairy-free milk to turn it into a free-from recipe.

I  make it using vegetable suet, Alpro Rice Milk and sometimes gluten -free bread and find no difference in the taste once cooked.

pyrex bowl of homemade stuffing on oak kitchen worktop
You might like to check out more of my homemade recipes:

How to Make Vegetable Stock from Vegetable Peelings
Easy Homemade Chicken Curry
Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

5 thoughts on “Nan’s Mixed Herb & Onion Stuffing Recipe – Perfect for your Christmas or Thanksgiving dinner

    • I may have to give this a go, thanks for sharing. I like revisiting recipes from previous generations. I think my mother still has my grandma’s handwritten recipe for Lochgelly tea loaf – best not to think about the sugar and butter in it – but it tastes good! And then there’s my granny’s cook book – one recipe insists that milk needed for one recipe be acquired by taking the pail to the cow.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s really quick and easy to do and so nice. I hope you like it. I will have to see if anyone has the Christmas pud recipe. I think one of my cousins makes it now that nan and auntie have gone. There’s something very comforting about family recipes isn’t there.

        Good luck with getting your milk 😉 that’s a brilliant quote isn’t it?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.