20 Books for Christmas

[Updated 1.9.22]
Every year I host the 20 Books for Christmas reading challenge.  I set the challenge up in 2019 and I have been joined by other book lovers, book bloggers, and bookstagrammers each year.  Read on to find out a bit more about the challenge, how to join in, and the benefits of a reading challenge for readers and authors.

I hope you will join us this year.

20-books-for-christmas-reading-challenge

How to join in with the 20 Books for Christmas reading challenge

You can join in on your blog, bookstagram/Instagram, Facebook and/or Twitter.

There are no hard and fast rules. Just choose 20, 15, or 10 books that you’d like to read (and hopefully review). They do not have to be Christmas-themed.

Book Bloggers

* Make a quick introductory post telling us what you are going to read.

* Link back to this post and comment below so I know who is joining in.

* You can use my header images at the end of this post if you wish, but you don’t have to.

* It’s up to you whether you review as you go along, or do one long round-up post at the end or even halfway through. Don’t forget to leave reviews on Amazon, Goodreads, and other online stores to show support for the authors.

TIP:  If you are a blogger and are taking part in Blogtober or Blogmas, you can always use some of your reviews as part of your blog challenge posts. A round-up post would make an excellent Christmas Gift Guide like my previous post Christmas Gifts for Book Lovers.

If you would like more tips of how to take part and complete blog challenges then head over to my How to Survive Blog Challenges post.

Bookstagrammers

* Follow me on my bookstagram account @teaandcakeforthesoul if you would like to, but you don’t have to.
* Post a photo of your Christmas book stack or list of books when you start. Use the hashtags and tag me if you’d like me to share to my stories.

#20BooksForChristmas
#teaandcakeforthesoul
@teaandcakeforthesoul

* You can share my 20 Books for Christmas Instagram image below if you want to let other people know that you are taking part.

* It’s up to you how you share your journey. It could be one book cover at a time, a compilation post at the end, or part way through your challenge. Reviews can be as long or short as you like, even just a star rating.

* Now, just enjoy reading.

Twitter

I rarely use Twitter now, but you can find me at @JoJacksonWrites

#20BooksForChristmas
#teaandcakeforthesoul

What are the benefits of a reading challenge?

I hope that you will join in and choose to read and review your own 20 Books for Christmas.

The biggest benefit of reading challenges for me is that they make me set aside time for reading because I don’t want to fail the challenge. I’m also using it as a way to clear some of my TBR pile and find books that I’ve forgotten about.

It’s so easy to be busy all the time isn’t it, especially during the festive season? I hope this will give you an excuse for some “you” time.

Why should readers leave book reviews?

So many of us read reviews before we decide to order something, so it’s important that we leave reviews for good products and good services ourselves.  I feel it’s especially important to give something back to authors. Just think of the hours that go into writing and editing a book, and the hours of pleasure that we get from those books as readers.

I always leave reviews of books I’ve enjoyed on my blog, bookstagram, Twitter, Amazon, and Goodreads (links below).

If I haven’t enjoyed a book, I simply don’t leave a review. I would never leave a bad review for a book, piece of music, or art, as I feel they are all down to personal taste and just because I didn’t enjoy something, doesn’t mean that others won’t. It’s not in my nature to upset people either, imagine reading a bad review of something you’ve spent ages creating.

I already have some Christmas book posts set up so I will add all my reviews to those. Have a look at my existing reviews or previous 20 Books for Christmas reading lists from previous years, if you need some festive reading suggestions:

* Heartwarming Christmas Reads

Free Christmas Kindle Reads

* Fabulously Festive Christmas Reads

MY 20 BOOKS FOR CHRISTMAS READING LIST 2022

These are the books I have chosen for 20 Books for Christmas 2022:

Kristina Adams – What Happens in New York
BR Maycock – Snowday
Casey Griffin – Paws Off The Boss
Charles Dickens – Great Expectations
Daniela Sacerdoti – Calling You Home
Lilac Mills – A Very Lucky Christmas
Liz Fielding – Christmas Reunion in Paris
Melody Grace – A Kiss for Christmas (collection)
Melissa Hill – A Wonderful Christmas (collection)
Mona Ingram – The Party
Sara Madderson – A Very London Christmas
Stephanie Taylor – Christmas Key (3 books)
Sue Grafton – The Alphabet Series (21/25 to read)
Theresa Sederholt – The Christmas Contest

Will you be joining us with 20 Books for Christmas reading challenge this year?

Other bloggers taking part:

Susan Loves Books
Carla Loves to Read

.

MY 20 BOOKS FOR CHRISTMAS READING LIST 2021

These are the books I chose for 20 Books for Christmas 2021.

Christmas at the Beach Hut by Veronica Henry ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Dreaming of Christmas by TA Williams ✓ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
A Year Like No Other by Pauline Lawless ✓ ⭐⭐⭐⭐
Skating at Somerset House by Nikki Moore ✓ ⭐⭐⭐⭐
The Mother of All Christmases by Milly Johnson ✓ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Christmas at the Crescent by Veronica Henry
Christmas at the Chateau by Lorraine Wilson
Christmas in July by Amanda Enni
Christmas Island by Natalie Normann
The Reading Group (December) by Della Parker
Coming Home by Geri Glenn
Winter Wonderland boxed set by Addison Moore
Christmas in Love (Trilogy)
Billionaire for Christmas – Laurie Baxter
Christmas at Conwenna Cove – Darcie Boleyn
Christmas Cravings by Emma Hamilton
The Great Christmas Escape by Kellie Hailes
Festive Treats (compilation)
Winter Heat (compilation)

I  was joined by the following bloggers in 2021:

Sarah at Urban Cat Pirate Cowboy
Lucy at Bookwormbloggerweb
Emily Jane at Budget Tales Books
Nina at The Cozy Pages
Lindsey Brogan
Susan Loves Books
Carla Loves to Read
Cindy’s Book Corner
@lesleyanngreen on Twitter

.

MY 20 BOOKS FOR CHRISTMAS READING LIST 2020

These were the books I chose for 20 Books for Christmas 2020.

Bella Osborne – One Family Christmas ✓
Belinda Missen – One Week til Christmas ✓
Debbie Johnson – Never Kiss a Man in a Christmas Jumper ✓
D E Malone – Love Like Fire ✓
Emily Harvale – Just for Christmas ✓
Emma Heatherington – Secrets in the Snow ✓
Emma Burstall – Christmas at the Cornish Guest House ✓
Fay Keenan – Snowflakes Over Bay Tree Terrace ✓
Georgia Toffolo – Meet Me In London ✓
Hazel Prior – Away With The Penguins ✓
Heidi Swain – The Winter Garden ✓
Izzy Bayliss – The Girl I was Before ✓
Jennifer Faye – A Mistletoe Kiss ✓
Jennifer Joyce – 12 Christmasses of You and Me ✓
Jo Bartlett – Christmas With the Cornish Midwives ✓
Jo Thomas – Finding Love at the Christmas Market ✓
Jenny Baylis – The Twelve Dates of Christmas ✓
Jessica Redland – Starry Skies Over the Chocolate Pot Cafe ✓
Jesscia Redland – Christmas at Carly’s Cupcakes ✓
Jules Wake – Covent Garden in the Snow ✓
Karen Swan – Together by Christmas ✓
Katlyn Duncan – Wrapped Up for Christmas ✓
Kate Hewitt – A Vicarage Christmas ✓
Laura Barnard – Sex, Snow & Mistletoe ✓
Lacey London – Clara at Christmas ✓
Lucy Coleman – Christmas at Lock Keeper’s Cottage ✓
Lindsey Kelk – Jenny Lopez Saves Christmas ✓
Lindzee Armstrong – Match me by Christmas ✓
Lindzee Armstong – Mistletoe Match ✓
Maxine Morray – The Christmas Project ✓
Melissa Hill – 12 Dogs of Christmas ✓
Melissa Hill – Beneath the Stars ✓
Melissa Hill – The Christmas Escape ✓
Melissa Hill – A Weekend in Paris ✓
Phillipa Ashley – A Surprise Christmas Wedding ✓
Phillipa Ashley – Christmas at the Cornish Cafe ✓
Rachel Wells – Alfie The Christmas Cat
Ruth Saberton – Winter Wishes ✓
Ruth Saberton – The Last Card ✓
Samantha Tonge – The Winter We Met ✓
Serenity Woods – White Hot Christmas ✓
Shari Low – One Day in Winter, Another Day in Winter, Last Day in Winter ✓
Sophie Clare – A Winter’s Dream ✓
Susan Schild – Christmas at The Lakeside Resort ✓
Zara Stonely – No-One Cancels Christmas ✓
Zara Stonely – The Holiday Swap ✓

I was joined by the following book bloggers and bookstagrammers in 2020:

Sarah – Pirates and Cowboys
The Spoonie Mummy
Bookworm Blogger
Anne – At Home a Lot
Nina D Silva
Pakes Makes Memories
Carla Loves to Read
@books_are_like_sunflowers
@eleniratftopoulou
@bookwormonthego
@alexkittygrape
@chapterofchels
@tammys_timeout
@cornishmummylovesbooks
@escapewithagoodbook
@thishannahreads
@from_my_diary @bookish_jane

.

MY 20 BOOKS FOR CHRISTMAS READING LIST 2019

Karen Swan – Christmas at Tiffany’s ✓
Julia Williams – A Merry Little Christmas ✓
Caroline Roberts – The Cosy Christmas Chocolate Shop ✓
Katherine Garvera – Christmas at the Candied Apple Cafe ✓
Lindsey Kelk – I Heart Christmas ✓
Carmen Reid – Up All Night ✓
Sophie Kinsella – My Not So Perfect Life ✓
Miranda Dickinson – Fairy Tale in New York ✓
Miranda Dickenson – I Will Take New York ✓
Susan Hill – Breaking Glass ✓
Miranda Dickenson – Take a Look at me Now ✓
Miranda Dickenson – It Started With a Kiss ✓
Miranda Dickenson – Welcome to My World ✓
Jim Iron and John Steel – Glory Boys ✓
Rachel Hore – Last Letter Home ✓
Eve Devon – Christmas at the Little Clock House ✓
Maeve Binchy – A Week in Winter ✓
Carole Matthews – Wrapped up in You ✓
Trisha Ashley – A Winter’s Tale ✓
Carmen Reid – New York Valentine ✓

I also read:

Miranda Dickinson – The Day We Meet Again ✓
Emma Heatherington – Rewrite The Stars ✓

I was joined by the following book bloggers in 2019:

Me and My Books
Portable Magic
Carla Loves To Read
Susan Loves Books
Read Rant Rock n Roll
Diary of a Book Fiend
The Cosy Pages

 

.
.

32 thoughts on “20 Books for Christmas

  1. am also participating in 20 Books for Christmas, Novella November and Non-fiction

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.