Easy Butterscotch Tart – Old School Dinner Recipes

Today I want to share with you a vintage recipe for an easy butterscotch tart that came straight from the kitchens that made our old school dinners.

When I was at school many decades ago, my favourite part of school dinners was the butterscotch tart that they’d serve for pudding sometimes. Luckily for me, my mum became a dinner lady and asked the cook for the recipe. She cut down the quantities and played around with it and this was the result.

I have to admit, I do cheat and buy a ready-made pastry case, but I have included the full recipe for you if you prefer to make your own.  I have to say this recipe for butterscotch tart is still as good as I remember.

Ingredients for the pastry:

150g plain flour
75g caster sugar
75 gram soft butter
pinch salt

(alternatively, get a ready-made case/cases for around 90p – life’s too short not to)

Method for the pastry:

1.  Sift 150g plain flour with a pinch salt and 75g caster sugar.
2. Beat a small egg then add with the butter into the flour and sugar.
3. Mix til it forms a dough.
3. Leave in a cool place for 1 hour.
4. Roll out pastry and place into greased tin then Blind bake in oven at 180ºC for 10-15 minutes.

Ingredients for the butterscotch filling:

160g butter
160g demerara sugar
60 ml /2 fluid oz milk
40g plain flour

Method for butterscotch filling:

1. Slowly melt 160g butter in a pan.
2. Mix in 160g demerara sugar and stir well until dissolved.
3. Add the flour a bit at a time and whisk as you go.
4. Add the milk a little at a time until it is all well mixed.
5. Turn up the heat and whisk continuously until it thickens and will lightly coat the back of a spoon.
6. Pour into a pastry case/cases. Allow it to cool, then refrigerate overnight (or if you are impatient you can speed it up a bit by putting it in the freezer although it’s not as nice).

slice of caramel coloured tart on white plate dusted with icing sugar
butterscotch tart

Gluten Free & Dairy Free Butterscotch Tart

You can use free from ingredients if you prefer. I use Doves Farm gluten free flour and Alpro rice milk and find it still tastes just as good.

I have tried substituting the butter with Vitalite and it does affect the taste. It’s not as good, but still quite yummy. I’d love to hear from you if you try a different butter alternative successfully.

I have to say I did enjoy school dinners on the whole, bar the odd exception.

Did you have a favourite pudding from your school days?
Or even a favourite meal?

19 thoughts on “Easy Butterscotch Tart – Old School Dinner Recipes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.